« Mobile Movies: the rise of the activefree drive-in | Main | Request to the iTunes Music Store »

Russian Sites Legally Selling Albums for $1.40... thoughts?

May 23, 2006

I found out about the allofmp3.com and mp3search.ru from a colleague at the Oxford Media & Communications Summit last weekend. Both sites essentially sell most popular American and global music for a fraction of the cost of iTunes.... legally! I just tried to buy the new Pearl Jam album to see if it works, and I got an authentication error on my card.... hmmm. Anyone successful?

According to the allofmp3.com site....

Is it legal to download?
Тhe availability over the Internet of the ALLOFMP3.com materials is authorized by the license # LS-3М-05-03 of the Russian Multimedia and Internet Society (ROMS) and license # 006/3M-05 of the Rightholders Federation for Collective Copyright Management of Works Used Interactively (FAIR). In accordance to the licenses' terms MediaServices pays license fees for all materials downloaded from the site subject to the Law of the Russian Federation "On Copyright and Related Rights". All these materials are solely for personal use. Any further distribution, resale or broadcasting are prohibited.

If this catches on, could become a major issue for iTunes and the rest.

Posted by Colin at May 23, 2006 1:54 PM

Comments

Post a comment




Remember Me?

(you may use HTML tags for style)